Building a Career in Photography: Andrea de Keijzer

Posted: 01/11/2010 in Uncategorized

an interview by Jessica Wilson

Tip 1: Be Passionate

What drew you to photography?

“It drew me. Having gone to an elementary art school, I was given lots of opportunity to explore colour, shape and composition and I recognize that experience as being a basis for my interest in photography. The photography that I am currently exploring includes Situational Portraits, Movement (primarily Dance) and Travel.”

Tip 2: Believe in your work

What do you do for self-promotion?

“I believe in myself and I believe in my work. I am mindful of the work that I put out there; always making sure it is honest and good quality. If the work is good, then it speaks for itself. Websites are essential as is ensuring that I am credited for work I`ve done (print or web). Another way I market myself is by having a creative and professional business card that I can circulate. (Look up moo.com) Word of mouth networking is another simple and largely successful form of self promotion.”

Tip 3: Create a Solid Foundation

If you could offer any advice to aspiring photographers, what would it be?

“Do three months max of volunteer work – then start charging or trading for your work. This is important! It takes a while to learn how much your work and time is worth, but the sooner you start this process, the better! Another piece of advice would be professional development: Find a mentor, be in contact other professional and emerging photographers, enroll in courses and apply for residencies/grants for creative research to further artistic motives without the pressure of always creating product.”

Tip 4: Give yourself a Goal

What are your goals within your photography career?

“My goal is to make a living from photography, or at least enough to supplement my income from dance, and be able to take more time per project. I really want to expand and find new possibilities within this form. I would love to create larger instillations that lead people through experiences. I also want to explore videography and film making – moving bodies/moving pictures.”

Tip 5: Challenges are Part of the Experience

What types of challenges are in your career?
“The inconsistency of the work can be challenging at first as it is all per contract. You must realize that taking care yourself financially is essential. As a self-employed individual, you’re the one who decides how much I get paid an hour, and I am learning more about this every day. Also, art can be challenging! As are people expectations of those who hire you. When something doesn’t work, but I see potential, I keep a folder called “good idea/bad photo”… it’s inspiration for further shoots. Another big challenge is the time required in front of the computer. On average it takes a minimum of four hours on the computer for every hour that I shoot, much more when you are just starting. Good music or podcasts while you work helps.

“Photography allows the opportunity of taking something that we know and tipping it off its axis so that we can go deeper into our knowledge of it.”

Andréa de Keijzer is an emerging contemporary dance artist and photographer. She graduated from York University in 2009 with a degree in Dance and Kinesiology. Andréa’s photographic work has been published in several magazines such as The Dance Current and Merge Zine and a book titled syncResist. At York University’s Accolade East Building there is a permanent installation of 22 of her works. Her website is http://www.therainydayparade.net.

Leave a comment